Links to:

The Cherenkov Telescope Array (CTA) is the next generation world's largest Gamma-Ray Observatory, aimed to be constructed by 2022. It involves an international collaboration of more than 32 countries, which includes Brazil. CTA will provide the deepest insight ever reached into the non-thermal high-energy Universe. It will deliver significant contributions to Cosmology, Plasma Astrophysics, and Astroparticle Physics, yielding an intense synergy between these research areas. CTA will probe the physical conditions of cosmic ray accelerators like black hole sources, pulsars, supernovae, and gamma-ray bursts; the composition and origin of dark matter; the cosmic magnetic fields; and explore the violation of the constancy of the light speed.

The time is ripe for the organization of a school on high energy astrophysics, particularly in South America -- where the Southern site of CTA will be located (in Chile). The first General Meeting of the CTA Consortium in the American continent will be held in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil, in May-2017. We take this unique opportunity to organize the "São Paulo School of Advanced Science on High Energy and Plasma Astrophysics in the CTA Era (SPSAS-HighAstro)", to be held between 21-31 May 2017 (starting from the week after the CTA Consortium meeting).

The emphasis of SPSAS-HighAstro will be on very high energy phenomena in the Universe, and practical methodology in the solution of problems related to them. It will address questions like:

SPSAS-HighAstro will cover the following topics, including:

The school is supported by:

Invited Lecturers

Roberto Aloisio INAF - Arcetri Astrophysical Observatory Italy
Ulisses Barres de Almeida Centro Brasileiro de Pesquisas Físicas (CBPF), Laboratorio de Fisica de Altas Energias (LAFEX) Brazil
Pasquale Blasi INAF - Arcetri Astrophysical Observatory Italy
Carlos H. de Brito Cruz FAPESP Brazil
Elisabete M. de Gouveia Dal Pino IAG - USP Brazil
Vitor de Souza Instituto de Física de São Carlos - USP Brazil
Fabio Iocco ICTP - South American Institute for Fundamental Research, Instituto de Física Teórica - UNESP Brazil
Grzegorz Kowal Escola de Artes, Ciências e Humanidades (EACH) - USP, Universidade Cruzeiro do Sul - São Paulo Brazil
Gernot Maier DESY Zeuthen Germany
Julie McEnery NASA Goddard Space Flight Center USA
Razmik Mirzoyan Max Planck Institute for Physics - Munich Germany
Rodrigo Nemmen IAG - USP Brazil
Giovanni Pareschi INAF - Osservatorio Astronomico di Brera Italy
Vladimir Ptuskin Pushkov Institute of Terrestrial Magnetism, Ionosphere and Radio Wave Propagation (IZMIRAN) - Russian Academy of Sciences Russia
Ronald C. Shellard Centro Brasileiro de Pesquisas Físicas (CBPF) Brazil
Riccardo Sturani IIP - Universidade Federal do Rio Grande do Norte Brazil
Alexander Tchekhovskoy University of California - Berkeley USA
Stefano Vercellone INAF - IASF Palermo Observatory Italy
Huirong Yan DESY Zeuthen, University of Potsdam Germany